SEN Categories in UK

Main areas of Special Educational Needs and appropriate SEN categories


1. Cognitive and Learning (a) Dyslexia/SpLD (DYL)
(b) Dyscalculia (DYC)
(c) Dyspraxia/DCD (DCD
(d) Mild Learning Difficulties (MILD)
(e) Moderate Learning Difficulties (MLD)
(f) Severe Learning Difficulties (SLD)
(g) Profound & Multiple Learning Difficulties (PMLD
(h) Unspecified (U)
2. Social, Emotional and Behavioural (a) SEBD
3. Communication and Interaction (a) Speech and Language Difficulties (SL)
(b) Autism (AUT)
(c) Aspergers (ASP)
4. Sensory (a) Severe/profound hearing loss (SPHL)
(b) Mild/moderate hearing loss (MMHL)
(c) Blind (BL)
(d) Partially sighted (PS)
(e) Multi-sensory impairment (MSI)
5. Physical (a) Cerebral Palsy (CP)
(b) Spina bifida and/or hydrocephalus (SBH)
(c) Muscular dystrophy (MD)
(d) Significant accidental injury (SAI)
(e) Other (OPN)
6. Medical Conditions/Syndromes (a) Epilepsy (EPIL)
(b) Asthma (ASTH)
(c) Diabetes (DIAB)
(d) Anaphylaxis (ANXS)
(e) Down (DOWN)
(f) Other medical conditions/syndromes (OMCS)
(g) Interaction of complex medical needs (ICMN)
(h) Mental Health Issues (MHI)
7. Other Other (OTH)