Managing material

Changing the name of an object and adjusting time settings

You can change the name of an object (folder, discussion list, file, etc.). You can also set the object to open/close at specific times.

  1. Click the object that you want to rename/to have new time settings.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name and select ‘General’ from the list.
  3. Write the new name in ‘New name’ and set the start and end times of the object in ‘Activity time for object’.  This is the time period during which the object can be viewed by the students.
  4. Remember to save the changes.

Access control – What are you allowed to view and do?

Access control provides users with specific rights to view material in the workspace (‘Read’) and participate in the activities of the workspace (‘Read and write’). In Optima, access control over each object can be determined separately. Access control can also be used for specifying the files to which users can add material, the users who can add material and the users who can add text to the discussion list or a diary and edit material. Please note: When you generate a new object, general read access is the default mode (= the object can be viewed by all participants).

Access control can be determined as follows:

  1. Click the object whose access control settings you want to view/change.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name and select ‘Access control’ from the list.
  3. Provide the appropriate groups/persons with read and write access by ticking the appropriate boxes. Remember to untick ‘All’ if you want only specific persons to view the object.
  4. Remember to save the changes.

Hiding material from students

If your workspace contains material that you do not want to share with the students, you should remove their read access. You can also hide the object in which case it does not appear on the left-hand navigation sidebar.

  1. Click the object that you want to hide.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name and select ‘General’ from the list.
  3. Tick the box ‘Hidden object’.
  4. Save the changes by clicking ‘Proceed’.

If you have a large amount of material that you do not want to share with the students, you should create a folder, hide it from the students and place the material in that folder.

Changing the order

Changing the order of the folders and objects is easy.

If you want to change the order of the workspace contents, click the name of the workspace on the left margin. If you want to change the order of the contents of the folder in the workspace, click the name of the folder on the left margin.

  1. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name.
  2. Select ‘Object order’ or ‘Folder order’, depending on which of them you want to change.
  3. Change the order of the objects/folders by clicking the four-headed arrows and by moving the object/folder into right order.

Copying, moving and linking

You can copy, transfer or link material in Optima from one folder or workspace to another. Copying will keep the original object unchanged and after copying you will have two identical but separate objects (such as the return box). Moving will remove the object from its original location and put it into a new location. Linking will create a link from the original object to a new location. After this, all changes that are made to the original object will also occur in the relocated object. Please note: When creating the link you should ensure that the students are also allowed to access the original object.

  1. Click the folder/object that you want to copy, transfer or link.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name and select ‘Object tools’ or  ‘Folder tools’ from the list.
  3. Choose copy, move or link on the right sidebar.
  4. Choose the location where you want the object/folder to be copied/moved/linked and click ‘Proceed’.

Printing out, saving, deletion

To print out material in Optima, first open the desired object by clicking on it and then click the printer icon in the top right corner .

To save material in Optima, first open the desired object by clicking on it and then click the disc icon in the top right corner .

You can delete material from Optima as follows:

  1. Click the object that you want to delete.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name and select ‘Delete’ from the list.
  3. Confirm the deletion by ticking the object and by clicking ‘Proceed’.

Deleted material will go to ‘Trash’ from which it can still be retrieved. For the ‘Trash’, go to workspace tools (click the name of the workspace -> wheel icon -> Workspace tools -> Trash).

Defining the startpage

You can define a startpage for the workspace or a folder. A good startpage is neat, informative and short. You should not have a file of any kind (image, pdf or doc) as your startpage because they open differently on different browsers and can be slow. A good tool for creating a startpage is the Optima Light Web editor.

  1. First create the startpage with the Light Web editor and then save it in your workspace.
  2. Click name of the workspace or folder on the left margin, depending on where you want to define the startpage.
  3. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name.
  4. Select ‘Set startpage’.
  5. Tick the page that you want to set as the startpage of your workspace or folder.
  6. Save the page by clicking ‘Proceed’.

Material library

The material library is a workspace from which you can link material to other workspaces. When an original document located in the material library is edited, all workspaces in which the document in question has been linked will also be automatically updated. This saves you both time and trouble. The material library is well-suited for such documents as general guidelines on how to write essays and how to use Optima and for course material and assignments.

Converting a workspace into a material library.

  1. Click the name of the workspace on the left margin.
  2. Click the wheel icon appearing next to the name.
  3. Select ‘General’ from the list.
  4. Select ‘Material library’ in ‘Type of workspace’.
  5. Remember to save the changes by clicking ‘Proceed’.